Hitachi ID Privileged Access Manager fundamentally grants elevated access to users for short time periods. Instead of granting someone Administrator or root access indefinitely, such access is granted for one or two hours at a time, with the access linked to an authorized user and a task.
Privileged Access Manager can be configured to control the number of users who can simultaneously connect to a given privileged account. This is done using a checkout/checkin process, in a manner similar to checking a book out of a library and returning it later.
- Rather than simply granting access to a privileged account, a user
may be required to check out access. Checkout is subject to
- A counter is incremented whenever access is checked out, indicating that one more person is allowed to sign into the account in question.
- The number of users who may concurrently access an account is limited -- for example, up to two at a time.
- The time interval during which a user may be allowed to sign into an account is limited -- for example, no more than two hours.
- Users are asked to check-in access rights when they are done using
a privileged account.
- The account's checkout counter is decremented.
- If the maximum allowed checkout time has elapsed, Privileged Access Manager
may automatically perform a checkin. This normally causes the
account's password to be re-randomized.
- Checkout and checkin supports coordination among IT workers:
- Privileged Access Manager can notify users who have already checked out access
to an account of subsequent checkouts (e.g., via e-mail or SMS).
- Privileged Access Manager can inform users who request a new checkout about already-active checkouts.
- Privileged Access Manager can notify users who have already checked out access to an account of subsequent checkouts (e.g., via e-mail or SMS).
- Passwords are normally randomized whenever the checkout counter returns to zero. This ensures that access does not persist after the last user disconnects from a privileged account.